My first open house

Many of you know I have been working toward my HSR (home staging and re-design) certification. Part of the work is to completely saturate my brain in the industry.  I will be working with realtors and different housing companies so getting a feel is very important.   There is also the fact that I’m selling my home so all the inside advantage I can acquire is greatly appreciated.

This past weekend I headed out to a well sought after area in Chattanooga.  I guess I completely underestimated how well sought after because this house is listed at $600k.

Ouch!!!

The home was a nice home but wasn’t staged so I was a little disappointed in that.  I did note colors though and it was a great time just feeling it out and making my own walk-thru assessments.
              To start off I loved the wallpaper but felt it was a little outdated . The see through room to room was very nice and the hardwood floors were great.


It seemed to me the sellers were in the process of updating and renovating but sorta stopped with the kitchen and the pool.  This was a custom kitchen that was very well laid out and I could see the details they incorporated into it.  By this time I was still raising an eyebrow at that price tho.  Like show me a $600k house.  That’s half a million dollar home people and so far… I just wasn’t feeling it.
     This was a cute nook that they added and I loved the backsplash they used.  I would have loved to see more classic marble and less tile tho.  Just my preference.

The kitchen had a fireplace that was amazing.  Ah ha…I found the marble!  Loved the bookcases and fun this were staged it would have sold that house!  Two sitting chairs and cozy it up a bit.  Yeah… It needed some warmth for people to really appreciate at open house.

I tried to lighten this pic up as much as I could because the view was lovely but those drapes were to die for!  Reminded me of castle like royalty.  With the wall paper and design they definitely were playing up the antiquity of the home.

This room at one time must have been a carport or patio and since been framed in for a lovely sitting area/sunroom.  I’m still not feeling the $600k so let’s keep moving.

This pool was amazing.  I can see the worth and the work it must have taken to install it and it definitely seemed very “oasis”.

Now we are upstairs and my apologies for not posting a pic of the master bedroom with adjoining bathroom but it was quite simple and small with no bath tub just a stand up shower.

One thing I love about old houses are door knobs.  These remind me of that episode on good times when Janet Jackson kept the soorknob that looked just like this!  (Don’t aks me why that popped in my head but there it is).   Over all the house in my eye was not worth the $600k with so much work to still be done.  There wasn’t one bath tub in the whole house and all the rooms had old timey doors that you could see under and through.  There was a basement but it was cracked them fixed and had a terrible musty oder.   One of the first rules of staging…smells matter!  Lol

If I were selling this home first thing I would do is update the colors and stage the house.  It’s old and not that big but it could be beautiful you just can’t see it.  Upgrades were only the kitchen, pool and one stand up shower in the master.  Not enough to really sell me on the house.   North River must be “the” place to live in Chattanooga, Tennessee because for that amount of money you have to be paying for location only.  All in all, it was a fun time and I learned a lot.

About Tess Star

Home Stager, Re-designer and travel-blogger writing about all things creative and fun. I love to travel, read the stars and create. I have a best friend/ dog named Charlie and he comforts my soul a lot. I have raised humans to be extraordinary in heart and there are many artist in my family. I dream all the time and I love funny people, good theatre and moving music. xoxo

Leave a Reply

